Friends of India Network Inc Minutes of AGM 18/8/17

7.30 PM

Chairperson: Sanjay Sharma

Members present: Sanjay Sharma (President)

Abdul Khalid (Vice President)

Rajul Tandon (Treasurer)

Hitesh Ghai

Sonia Ghai

Manish Mittal

Manisha Mishra

Yasmeen Khalid

Lekha Praveen

Priyam Patel

Nikunj Patel

Jigna Patel

Gaurav Patel

Dixit Patel

Rakesh Patel

Bhavik Patel

Deepika Monga

Preeti Grover

Priti Mehta

Ashvin Mehta

Satnam Aulakh

Arun Aggarwal

Sanjay Lohat

Susheel Sharma

Kiran Tippur

Reshma Tippur

Apologies:

Rajat Taneja

Kanika Taneja

Nidhi Tandon

Ramesh Chandra

Seema Chandra

Sudha Lohat

Sachin Dahiya

Shalini Dahiya

Shikha Aggarwal

Confirmation of previous meeting's minutes:

Proposed: Manish Mittal Seconded: Susheel Sharma

Chair welcomed all attendees and acknowledged of efforts for success of maiden fundraising effort and of social function (Diwali 2016). Chair also thanked all those who contributed with time and effort including cultural program, printing / designing of fliers and souvenirs and other organising input.

Business arising:

- 1. Membership: All members encouraged to register at website, and invite their friends to register as well. All Indians and non- Indians welcome.
- 2. Website: Is now active and has members page, with area for registration. Plan for more information including accounts to be made transparent and public on this website.
- 3. Facebook page: recognising importance of social media, FIN is trying to increase activity on Facebook page. Acknowledgement to Dixit Patel for volunteering his time to take over running of FIN's social media platforms.
- 4. Ratification of Constitution:
 - a. Legal advice sought, advise was to align constitution based on Consumer Affairs Victoria (CAV) model rules.
 - b. In the recommended format, committee runs the network, and there is no provision for a Board.

Motion put across to the members: Members are happy to ratify constitution to be aligned along the model rules format of CAV and abandon the provision of board in governance structure – accepted unanimously.

- 5. Committee membership:
 - a. From elected members, Bobby Mehta stepped down as Secretary
 - b. Rajat Taneja (elected Vice president) took over role of Secretary.
 - c. Abdul Khalid kindly accepted the role of Vice President when invited by the committee.
 - d. The tenure of the committee is 4 years. At every 4th AGM, the positions will all be declared vacant, and election of office bearers conducted as per due process.
- 6. Accounting update:
 - a. The network has ABN number so as to transact business and generate invoice/receipt
 - b. Working towards obtaining DGR status, which would allow donations to be tax deductible.
- 7. Treasurer report (enclosed)
- 8. Next Diwali Function 14th October, 2017
- 9. Fundraiser: 3 Feb 2018
- 10. Other issues:
 - a. Membership open to everyone including non-Indians
 - b. Sponsorships- all members encouraged to get sponsors

Meeting closed at 8.15 PM